Appointments to Cochrane Council

Appointments to Cochrane Council

The Cochrane Council aims to ensure that Cochrane Groups retain an effective voice in Cochrane’s leadership and strategic decision-making.

We are delighted to welcome Jo Morrison as new Coordinating Editor representative, Vanessa Jordan as new Authors representative and Sarah Nevitt as new Methods representative.

Jo is a gynaecological cancer surgeon and she has been Coordinating Editor for Gynaecological, Neuro-oncology and Orphan Cancer (GNOC) Group since 2011. She has experience of governance and management within the NHS and as a Council member on the British Gynaecological Cancer Society. She works on a national guidelines committee and lead a guideline development group, involving multi-disciplinary members.

Vanessa is an Author with Cochrane New Zealand and she has been involved with Cochrane for 16 years. She is a methodologist specialising in systematic reviews, and she trains authors on how to write systematic reviews in New Zealand, Australia and China. She is currently an author on 19 reviews which includes, 10 published reviews (9 interventional and 1 diagnostic), 5 published protocols (including a network meta-analysis) with a further 3 reviews and 1 protocol close to publication.

Sarah is a Research Associate in the Institute of Translational Medicine at the University of Liverpool, UK. She has been an active Cochrane author and Cochrane Methods enthusiast since 2011 and is currently the Statistical Editor of the Cochrane Epilepsy Group and the Cochrane Neuromuscular Group. She is also an active member of the Mental Health and Neuroscience Network.

In addition to the new appointments, we are pleased to inform our Community that Gail Quinn, Rene Spijker, Lotty Hooft, Erik von Elm and Miranda Langendam have all been re-elected for a second term on the Council which will end in February 2023.

Our special thanks to Maria Ximena Rojas-Reyes, Graziella Filippini and Yemisi Takwoingi for their contribution to the work of the Council in the past three years.



February 20, 2020