2023 Cochrane Awards and Prizes - Nominations now open!

Prize and awards open

Nominate your Cochrane colleagues for prizes and awards by 12 June 2023.

Every year Cochrane awards members of its Community with a range of prizes that highlight high-quality methodological research, supporting health decision-making in developing countries, and contributors who have made a significant contribution to the organization.

The winners of the 2023 prizes will be announced at the Colloquium.

You have until 12 June 2023 to make your nominations.

We encourage everyone in the Cochrane Community to review these awards and nominate colleagues.

The Kenneth Warren Prize is awarded to the principal author of whichever Cochrane Review authored by a national living in a developing country is judged to be both of high methodological quality and relevant to health problems in developing countries.


The Bill Silverman Prize is awarded to acknowledge explicitly the value of criticism of Cochrane, with a view to helping to improve its work, and thus achieve its aim of helping people make well-informed decisions about health care by providing the best possible evidence on the effects of healthcare interventions.


The Anne Anderson Award is awarded at each Cochrane Colloquium to a female member of Cochrane who has made a significant contribution to the enhancement and visibility of women's participation within Cochrane.




The Chris Silagy Prize is awarded to an individual who has made an "extraordinary" contribution to the work of Cochrane which would not be recognised outside the scope of this prize.

Gail and Clare prizes open
21 April 2023