The Anne Anderson Award

Anne Anderson

The Anne Anderson Award is awarded at each Cochrane Colloquium or Global Evidence Summit to a female member of Cochrane who has made a significant contribution to the enhancement and visibility of women's participation within Cochrane.

Anne Anderson was a contributor to the stream of thinking and effort that gave birth to evidence-based health care. A clinically qualified reproductive physiologist, Anne had an active interest in women’s health, co-editing the first edition of Women’s problems in general practice (1983) with Ann McPherson. Anne also contributed to Effectiveness and satisfaction in antenatal care (1982), edited by Murray Enkin and Iain Chalmers, and was discussing, with Marc Keirse and Iain Chalmers, the possibility of co-editing a companion volume on elective birth. However, her premature death from breast cancer in 1983 ended her involvement. Iain Chalmers, Murray Enkin, and Marc Keirse went on to publish Effective care in pregnancy and childbirth (ECPC) in 1989, dedicating the book in part to Anne. ECPC, through its systematic approach to assessing the research literature, is widely acknowledged to have led to development of a similar project for all of medicine and health - Cochrane. Anne Anderson was 46 years old when she died.

Read more about Anne Anderson's life and work

In the footsteps of Anne Anderson, many outstanding women continue to contribute and inspire other women to improve health knowledge for the good of their communities. Often these women are quiet achievers who might otherwise not be recognized. The goal of the Anne Anderson Award is to recognize and stimulate individuals contributing to the enhancement of women’s visibility and participation in the Cochrane leadership. The Award is given to a Cochrane member who has contributed meaningfully to the promotion of women as leaders and contributors to the organization. The establishment of the Award was approved in principle by the Cochrane Steering Group (CSG) in 2010, and was awarded for the first time in 2011. At its meeting in Split in March 2011, the CSG agreed to put 1000 GBP per year for three years from core funds towards the newly established Anne Anderson Award. Additional donations may be made via the 'Donate now!' button on the Cochrane website, earmarked 'The Cochrane Collaboration Anne Anderson Award'.


Past or current active women members of Cochrane are eligible for the Award. Recipients will be selected based on emotional and cognitive intelligence, serving as an inspiration to others, evidence of cumulative accomplishment, originality and independence of thought, personal qualities, team building, leadership, and mentorship. The nominee’s contribution to or enhancement of women’s visibility within Cochrane, participation in Cochrane and other leadership, and other accomplishments within the context of Cochrane will also be considered in the selection process.

Nominations may be made by anyone within Cochrane. The nomination form should include specific examples of the nominee’s contribution to the enhancement of women’s visibility and participation in the Cochrane leadership. These contributions may include, but are not limited to, serving as a role model and inspiration to others, mentoring, training, encouraging, supporting and promoting women for their work in Cochrane. We suggest the following specific areas should be covered in the nomination:

  • involvement in Cochrane;
  • contribution to the promotion of women as leaders and contributors to Cochrane;
  • enhancement of visibility of women within Cochrane, including team building and independent working;
  • participation in leadership in Cochrane;
  • accomplishments within the context of Cochrane.

The Anne Anderson Award winner receives a certificate from Cochrane honouring her contributions, as well as a cash award of 3000 USD. The recipient designates the cash award to assist a woman from a low-resource setting with Cochrane activities; this recipient should provide a brief written report on how the funds have been used.

This award is made possible by the generous donations of community members, normally through donations to take part in a guided walk at the colloquium. Please donate today to help maintain this important prize:

Award recipients

Madelon Van Wely

Tiffany Duque, Cochrane US
Paola Andrenacci from Argentina - prize money recipient

Jackie Ho, Cochrane Malaysia
Wai Cheng from Malaysia - prize money recipient

Sophie Hill
Nyanyiwe Mbeye from Malawi - prize money recipient

Tianjing Li, Cochrane Eyes and Vision
Thanitsara (Muky) Rittiphairoj from Thailand - prize money recipient

Kay Dickersin, Cochrane US
Janice Bowie - prize money recipient

Sally Green, Cochrane Australia

Nicky Cullum, Cochrane Wounds
Prof Angela Chimwaza - prize money recipient

Lisa Bero, Co-Chair, Cochrane Steering Group

Elizabeth Waters, Cochrane Public Health

Cindy Farquhar, Cochrane Menstrual Disorders and Subfertility
Luisa Fajardo from Colombia - prize money recipient

Award not made in 2012

Caroline Crowther, Cochrane Pregnancy and Childbirth
Sarah Manyame from Zimbabwe - prize money recipient