The Chris Silagy Prize


Chris Silagy, AO, MD

Chris Silagy (1960-2001) was the founding Director of the Australasian Cochrane Centre, a former Chair of the Cochrane Steering Group and instrumental in Cochrane's development and success. Chris was energetic, positive and inspiring. Before his death in December 2001, Chris expressed a wish for a Fund to be established, to be held by the Monash Foundation. Chris initiated this fund with his own contribution, and requested donations be made to it instead of flowers or other tributes after his death.

Chris requested that this Fund be used to recognise contributions to Cochrane in ways that are often insufficiently recognised; for example, providing administration, management, Colloquium organisation, communication and motivation - in short, the 'glue' that helps to keep Cochrane together. The establishment and perpetuation of the Prize was approved by the Steering Group in April 2002.

The Chris Silagy Prize

The Chris Silagy Prize is awarded at every Cochrane Colloquium to an individual who has made an “extraordinary” contribution to Cochrane's work.

The Prize consists of AU$1,000 (drawn from the Chris Silagy Memorial Fund), a certificate which includes the words 'for an extraordinary contribution to the work of The Cochrane Collaboration', and expenses associated with attending the Colloquium (to be met by Cochrane). Potential recipients of the Chris Silagy Prize are required to have:

  • made an extraordinary contribution to Cochrane;
  • made a contribution that exceeds the expectations of their employment;
  • made a contribution to Cochrane that would not be recognised outside the scope of this Prize;
  • been identified by their peers as consistently contributing to a spirit of collaboration.

Nominations and selection

Nominations should be sent to Sally Green ( with the name of the Prize in the subject heading. Nominations should include a nominator, two seconders, acceptance of nomination and a one-page supporting document supporting the nomination against the criteria. A selection panel of three individuals is appointed each year from past members of the Steering Group and its advisory committees, and the previous year's Prize recipient (if not conflicted). A governing committee oversees the Prize.

2024 nominations now closed


Chris Silagy Prize recipients



Muriah Umoquit
Cochrane Central Executive Team



Gail Quinn and Clare Jess
Gynaecological, Neuro-oncology and Orphan Cancer Cochrane Review Group


No prize awarded


Joy Oliver
Cochrane South Africa


Chris Silagy Prize

Anna Noel-Storr
Cochrane Dementia and Cognitive Improvement Group


Karin Dearness
Cochrane Upper GI and Pancreatic Diseases group


Livia Puljak
Cochrane Croatia


Anne Eisinga
Cochrane UK


Jenny Bellorini
Jenny Bellorini
Cochrane ENT


Denise Thomson
Cochrane Child Health


Sally Bell-Syer
Cochrane Wounds


Nancy Owens
Cochrane Web Team


Jordi Pardo Pardo
Cochrane Musculoskeletal


Martin Janczyk
Cochrane Web Team and Cochrane Germany 


Juliane Ried
Cochrane Web Team and Cochrane Germany


Chris Mavergames
Cochrane Web Team and Cochrane Germany


Kate Cahill
Cochrane Tobacco Addiction


Rasmus Moustgaard
Cochrane Nordic


Heather Maxwell
Cochrane Vascular


Monica Kjeldstrøm
Cochrane Nordic


Janet Wale
Cochrane Consumer


Sonja Henderson
Cochrane Pregnancy and Childbirth


Gill Gyte
Cochrane Pregnancy and Childbirth


Jini Hetherington
Cochrane Executive Team

Governing Committee for the Chris Silagy Prize

  • Sally Green
  • Jini Hetherington (from 2003)
  • Philippa Middleton
  • Jane Russell (Silagy)

Donations to the Chris Silagy Prize Fund

Donations to this Fund are most welcome.

Cheques should be made payable to 'The Silagy Fund, Monash University' and sent to The Development Office, Building 65, Monash University 3800, 246 Clayton Road, Clayton, Victoria 3168, Australia.

Credit card donations (MasterCard, Bankcard and Visa only) can be faxed to +61 3 9905 2944.  The credit card number should be written clearly, and the fax must include the expiry date of the credit card, the name exactly as it appears on the card, and the card holder's full name and address.

Telephone donations can be made to Sara Kelly, The Development Office, Monash University, University Development and Alumni, on +61 3 9905 9957.

Donors to the Chris Silagy Prize Fund

Individual donors:

Professor Leon Piterman; Mrs Pamela R Herman; Professor Elsdon Storey; Ms Lyn Roberts; Dr Wendy Rogers; Professor David Hill; Ms Frances Fairman; Professor Amy E Zelmer; Mr Eric L Garner, AM; Mrs Suzanne Strangward; Dr Rosemary L Nixon; Mrs Joan M McPhee; Mr John L McPhee; Professor Stephen J Duckett; Ms Pauline Pellegrini; Mr NG Taylor; Dr JL Linn; Dr JS Linn; Ms Margaret F Broadhead; Professor Godfrey Fowler; Mrs Jeannett L Hall; Mrs R Allen; Mr Ken R Strangward; Mr Julian F Coles; Ms Janet Coles; Professor MP Vessey.

Institutional donors:

National Heart Foundation of Australia; Mt Waverley District Scout Association