2021 Cochrane Awards and Prizes - Nominations now closed

Cochrane Awards and Prizes - Nominations now open!

Every year Cochrane recognizes members of its international Community with a range of Awards that highlight high-quality methodological research through to supporting health decision-making in developing countries, and those who have made a significant contribution to the organization.

The winners of the 2021's Cochrane Awards will be announced in a virtual presentation later this year.

Please submit your nominations by 31 October 2021


The Kenneth Warren Prize is awarded to the principal author of whichever Cochrane Review authored by a national living in a developing country is judged to be both of high methodological quality and relevant to health problems in developing countries.



The Bill Silverman Prize is awarded to acknowledge explicitly the value of criticism of Cochrane, with a view to helping to improve its work, and thus achieve its aim of helping people make well-informed decisions about health care by providing the best possible evidence on the effects of healthcare interventions.



The Chris Silagy Prize is awarded at every Cochrane Colloquium to an individual who has made an “extraordinary” contribution to the Cochrane' s work. Nominations should be sent to Sally Green (sally.green@monash.edu) with the name of the Prize in the subject heading. Nominations should include a nominator, two seconders, acceptance of nomination and a one-page supporting document supporting the nomination against the criteria. A selection panel of three individuals is appointed each year from past members of the Steering Group and its advisory committees, and the previous year's Prize recipient (if not conflicted). A governing committee oversees the Prize.


Unfortunately, Thomas Chalmers Award will not be rewarded in 2021 due to the cancellation of Cochrane's Colloquium in Toronto. The award is presented at Cochrane's annual scientific conference to the principal author of both the best oral and the best poster presentation addressing methodological issues related to systematic reviews given by an early career investigator. We hope to see the return of this Award in 2022!

Anne Anderson Award: Earlier this year, we invited members from our international Cochrane community on a 'virtual' walk in support of our annual Anne Anderson Award. Participants made donations and shared photos of their walks - see their stories here

The winner of Cochrane's Anne Anderson Award 2021 will be announced later this year.

Make your nominations by 31 October 2021

20 October 2021